Pixies - Surfer Rosa

  • Surfer Rosa CD and Vinyl combination
  • Recieved numerous 5 star reviews
  • Heavily influenced Nirvana's 'Nevermind' album


How To Buy

As UK distributors for the brands we represent, our main focus is to give you all the information you need to help assist with your purchase. Once you have the information you need, we want to make the purchase process as simple as possible. So we give you up-to three options on how to buy our products.

Find Your Local Retailer

Our preferred option is for you to visit a nearby store and buy what you need locally. Our authorised stockists are some of the finest specialist hi-fi retailers in the country, and they're equipped to give you the best after-sales and set-up advice possible - all in person. To find your local retailer, either click the 'Buy In-Store' button on your product page for exactly the right recommendation, or head to our comprehensive Where To Buy tool.

Buy Now, Collect Locally

If you want the added convenience of only having to pop-in to store when you know the product you want has arrived, you can use our Click & Collect-style checkout process. With Buy Now, Collect Locally, your purchase takes place online and the product is then delivered direct to your local supporting retailer; ready for you to collect when you're ready. Click here to find out more about Buy Now, Collect Locally.

Buy Now

For smaller items, you can also have the ultimate convenience of purchasing directly through our website. The checkout process is entirely secure, so you can trust your information will be safe - and your desired product will arrive with you as quickly as possible.

Click here for full Terms & Conditions.


Surfer Rosa was released in the UK by 4AD on March 21, 1988, and represents the first full-length album from the American band Pixies. After an average initial response, the album has grown over time to be an icon of its era, and is frequently polled as an influential album of the 1980s and even of Rock history. As a result of its growing popularity and significance, the album was re-released by Elektra Records in 1992 and went 'Gold' in 2005.

Surfer Rosa boasts a mix of music styles; sometimes coming across as a guitar-pop record, while in other places being a lot heavier. The lyrical content is fairly varied and often dark or surrealistic, with most of the tracks coming from the pen of principal songwriter, Black Francis.

The Cover Art

Surfer Rosa's cover features a photograph of a topless flamenco dancer, pitched against a wall which displays a crucifix and a torn poster. The artwork was devised by Simon Larbalestier, who contributed pictures to all of the Pixies albums, and inspired by Black Francis. The name of the cover woman, and the album title, comes from the "Oh My Golly!" song lyric, "Besando chichando con surfer rosa."

Track Listing

  1. Bone Machine
  2. Break My Body
  3. Something Against You
  4. Broken Face
  5. Gigantic
  6. River Euphrates
  7. Where Is My Mind?
  8. Cactus
  9. Tony's Theme
  10. Oh My Golly!
  11. Vamos
  12. I'm Amazed
  13. Brick Is Red

Technical Data

Package: Vinyl & CD album combination
Catalogue Number: N/A

Please Note: All items with catalogue numbers are exclusive repressings by Art Vinyl.

Note: We’re constantly updating our website to ensure all our listings are as accurate as possible. However, the images and text on this page can be subject to change without notice, and errors and omissions are excepted.

If you have any questions, please contact us.