Head Box DS

Image of Box-Design

Reviews

Pro-Ject Head Box DS, Head-Fi, March 2016

Head-Fi, March 2016

Rating: 4.5/5 Stars

Comments of Note:
"Pros: Compact Size, Solid Build, Nice Balance, Low Noise, Easy Use, Good Display, Great Playback Quality for the Price"
"The construction is solid throughout, with a good steady weight. Once in use, there no movement of the Head-Box DS while adjusting the volume."
"The LED screen is nice, crisp and bright. It is easy to read the input and volume level at various angles."
"Mids – Vocal clarity and presentation is just fantastic. I was really not expecting this in this price range."
"Noise – The Head Box DS does a fairly good job staying quiet, even at low frequencies with finicky CIEMs when pushing them to the floor."
"Highs – The upper range stay true to itself and sonic reproduction. I did not hear any colorization to inhibit proper and accurate playback in the highs, instead you are greeted with well executed clarity."
"There is a lot to like about the Head Box DS. It has a great detailed sound, even more so for this lower price range. The build is solid, yet still compact."
"Overall, the Head Box DS is a VERY easy recommendation, because it does the one thing us audiophile want, it produces a great sound for its price point."

Read the full review click here

Pro-Ject Head Box DS, Hi-Fi Critic, Jul - Sept 2014

Hi-Fi Critic, July - September 2014

Comments of Note:
"It should be considered something of a bargain.."
 "I Made comparisons using the headphone sockets of a good half dozen such amplifiers, ranging in price from £199 to over £1000, and in every case the sound was bettered by that from the Pro-Ject on a number of counts. Principally, the sounds it made simply flowed more naturally."

Pro-Ject Head Box DS, Hi-Fi World, Dec 2013

Hi-Fi World, December 2013

Rating: 5/5 Globes

Comments of Note:
“I started listening with some Rossini Overtures and was impressed with the level of resolution to the sound for such a modest price.”
“String sounds, often an Achilles heel for digital kit, were quite accurately reproduced, avoiding undignified piercing sounds and providing a smooth but detailed, and quite well-textured presentation.”
“Counter harmonies provided by Michelle, Denny and John were spread across to the left, each having a properly defined space that enabled me to listen to either an individual melody line, or to absorb the sound as a whole.”
“The Head Box proved its worth as a DAC when connected to the television and playing through the hi-fi. I was impressed at the levels of detail, both obvious and subtle, that helped flesh out the images in the screen in front of me.”
“In short, I really could find nothing to fault in the Head Box DS.”
“For the price it offers superb sound quality via either analogue or digital feeds. As a headphone amp it gave me an involving and detailed sound with good imaging. As a DAC it enhanced the sound of any source plugged into it.”
“It is solidly built, and my experience of Pro-Ject equipment is that it is reliable over several years of service.”
"Outstanding - Amongst the best."
“AGAINST – Nothing at the price”

Pro-Ject Head Box DS, Hi-Fi Choice, October 2013

Hi-Fi Choice, October 2013

Reviewed By: Ed Selley
Overall Score: 5 Stars

Comments of Note:
“For such a small display, it is extremely clear and easy to read and makes everything else at the price look a little crude in comparison.”
“There is a richness and detail to vocals that greatly aids the believability of the performance and the impressively low noise floor means that incidental detail is easy to pick out without sounding forced.”
“The performance across the different digital inputs seems extremely consistent with no serious changes in performance and the analogue input appears to be transparent, too.”
“...the excellent performance over headphones combined with substantial build quality and useful features set mean that the Pro-Ject is a very clever box of tricks indeed.”