MaiA

Image of Box-Design

Reviews

Pro-Ject MaiA & Speaker Box 5, TNT, March 2016

TNT Audio, March 2016

Reviewed By: Graeme Budd


Comments of Note:

MaiA

"...it let the music flow without any obvious obstruction or added artefacts allowing the improved resolution of both sources to be clearly heard. I tried Prince's Lotus Flower out on vinyl and came away extremly [sic] impressed. Imaging was really good with instruments clearly delineated in space and obvious forward and rear placement. There was also some pleasant texture to the instruments particularly the analogue nature of the electric piano and the way it breaks up."
"the MaiA didn't suffer on the very dynamic drum track keeping control of proceedings and producing a lively, snappy sound through the Speaker Box 5s. This is no mean feat for such a small box and driver combination."
"As the MaiA amp is equipped with a Bluetooth Antenna I paired it up with my old faithful Iphone 4. Here I was really surprised as generally streaming isn't my cup of tea. I fired up the McIntosh Music stream and happily spent the afternoon with some 60s thru 00s classics without feeling the need to faf around with big or small discs."
"A quick adjustment to the BluRay sound format (PCM is required) and opening sequence of Star Wars IV was sounding very good with the orchestra clearly spread in front and the Star Destroyer rumbling in from the right."

Speaker Box 5

"Imaging is a very strong point on these speakers with very tangible soundstages and what they may lack in scale they make up for in precision. Presentation is intimate rather than grandiose but as I alluded to above when presented with some dance music they are far from letting the side down and get down and boogie."

"I ran this system for over four months during which time I didn't feel the urge to switch on my beloved valve amp or plug in any larger speakers."
"To sum up - it's compact, sounds excellent, looks good, is easy to use and is well priced to boot. If you're looking for your own HiFi for beginners or something to recommend to a friend who is about to dip their toe into the bathwater that is the world of hifi, a trip to your local Pro-Ject dealer may well be a very good place to start."

Pro-Ject MaiA, Home Theatre Review, November 2015

Home Theatre Review, November 2015

Performance: 4.5 Stars
Value: 5 Stars
Overall Score: 5 Stars

Comments of Note:
"Pro-ject Audio Systems also sent the RPM Carbon 3 turntable, so I took it for a spin on the MaiA to take advantage of the moving-magnet phono input. The vinyl tracks I used--Pat Benatar's Get Nervous (Vinyl/Chrysalis) and Van Halen's Fair Warning (Vinyl, Warner Brothers)--played through the MaiA incredibly, and what I heard can be best described as an organic sound quality, with great detail and accuracy. Even with these rock bands, the warmth of the vinyl beamed through."
"I found the Pro-ject Audio MaiA to be a well-made and serious electronic integrated amplifier with a host of inputs and versatility. The MaiA can handle any source I can think of and has an abundance of features that I could not find, collectively, on any other single product. My first impression is that the MaiA is perfect for the aspiring audiophile, allowing experimentation with a variety of sources. However, after living with the MaiA for several months, I realized that an experienced audiophile would enjoy the MaiA, as well."
"If you are looking for starter product or the foundation for a second system, you should really give the Pro-ject MaiA serious consideration."

Pro-Ject Maia, Hi-Fi Pig, March 2015 pt2

Hi-Fi Pig, March 2015

With a score exceeding 8.5 overall for the MaiA amplifier from Dominic’s Hi-Fi Pig review, The MaiA went on for a follow up review with Dan Worth:

Reviewed By: Dan Worth
Construction: 9/10
Sound Quality: 9/10
Value For Money: 9.6/10
Overall Score: 9.2/10, Recommended

Comments of Note:
"All in all the Pro-Ject Maia is the first true budget All in One amplifier that truly demands an audition. It’s so compact and feature rich it can adorn any room of the home and the Stream Box Ds Net I use is the same width, they just sit on top of each other as would the other Pro-Ject components, so whether you want to play a CD from the matching form factor CD Box S or the taller CD Box DS, listen to Internet radio or stream there is a compact solution that will drive loud volumes of any speaker 90db or above and below that threshold to most reasonable levels."
"Recommended for ‘True value for money’ a one stop shop with a sound quality that just makes you sit back and smile."

To read the full review click here

Pro-Ject Maia, Hi-Fi Pig, March 2015

Hi-Fi Pig, March 2015

Reviewed By: Dominic Marsh
Construction: 9.3/10
Sound Quality: 9.4/10
Value For Money: 9.6/10
Overall Score: 9.4/10, Recommended

Comments of Note:
“Now I found that the MaiA wasn’t seriously outclassed at all with every component costing many times more than it did. The sound moved on into yet another dimension that was snapping at the heels of my resident amplifier which cost some 10 times more than the MaiA.”
“Imaging and soundstage were certainly well up to standard with good height and depth, the sound extending well out beyond the speaker boundaries.”

"The icing on the cake has to be that sub-£400 price tag and that to me ranks it as a complete steal in terms of sound quality over value for money. I am confident it will win many admirers.”

To read the full review click here

Pro-Ject MaiA, Hi-Fi World, January 2015

Hi-Fi World, January 2015

Rating: 4/5 Globes
EXCELLENT - Extremely Capable

Comments of Note:
“Overall construction is relatively sturdy with no indication that any obvious corners have been cut to save on costs.”
“Despite is [sic] small dimensions the MaiA has a surprisingly large and lively soundstage.”
“the Pro-Ject had no problem filling our large listening room.”
“Peter Hook’s bassline on New Order’s ‘Bizzare Love Triangle’ had definition and punch while Bernard Sumner’s vocals were planted firmly between the ‘speakers.”
“Pairing with a mobile or laptop is easy and the connection remained rock-solid throughout testing.With an appropriate device the aptX codec also brings a significant boost in sound – with everything sounding crisper and cleaner.”
About the in-built phonostage “Robbie Roberton’s eponymous debut album came across as detailed and open with good instrumental separation and a nice sense of atmosphere.”
“Combining a DAC, phonostage, decent Class D amplifier and Bluetooth in one small unit for just under £400 is no mean feat and offers excellent value for money.”
“A neat all-in-one solution with outstanding flexibility at an affordable price.”
“FOR: - Range of inputs – Bluetooth – Good phono stage – Price”

Pro-Ject MaiA, Hi-Fi News, November 2014

Hi-Fi News, November 2014

Score: 80%, 'Highly Commended'